Adobe just bought the last step of your AI film for $340 million
Adobe's SEC filing puts the Topaz Labs price at about $340 million, a number neither announcement gave. Topaz was already inside Premiere, After Effects and Resolve before the deal, so what changed is ownership. The plugins for rival editors, the fal and Krea resale and any Creative Cloud bundling have no public answer yet, so now is the time to check which finishing steps depend on one vendor.

About two hours after Topaz Labs told its followers on X that it was now an Adobe company, one of them asked the question that matters to anyone who pays for both. The user @ChrisGwinnLA wrote that he subscribes to Topaz and to Adobe Creative Cloud, and wanted to know whether Topaz would "now be a part of my Creative Cloud subscription" and whether he could "cancel my separate Topaz sub". Topaz spent that Wednesday evening thanking well-wishers by name and answering another user who asked whether the separate platform was going away. The Creative Cloud question has had no reply from Topaz a week later.
The deal itself is done. Adobe completed its acquisition of Topaz Labs on Wednesday 23 September, three months after announcing it, and said in its own post that "the Topaz Labs brand will remain, and its apps and models will continue to be available as standalone products." Topaz CEO Eric Yang joins Adobe's Digital Video and Audio team, and customers of both companies "can expect the same level of support they're used to." Neither the June announcement nor the closing post gave a price. Adobe's quarterly report, filed with the SEC the day before the close, did: "approximately $340 million, primarily in cash consideration," paid from cash on hand, under an agreement signed on 24 June.
What $340 million bought
For AI filmmakers, Topaz is rarely the headline tool and very often the last one. Generated clips tend to leave the model at 720p or 1080p, with soft faces and a shimmer of flicker, and Topaz's video models, Starlight and Astra among them, are a common way to push that footage to 4K before it goes near a festival projector or a client's grade. The company also shares a 2025 Technology and Engineering Emmy with MTI Film for AI restoration of TV catalogs, a detail Adobe's post shortens to "Emmy Award-winning".
By Adobe's standards the price is modest, and the logic is strategic rather than financial. Adobe named Topaz's Neurostream technology, which Topaz says cuts VRAM use by up to 95% so large models run on consumer graphics cards, as a reason for the deal in June. That figure is Topaz's own and has not been independently tested. What Adobe really acquired is a step in the pipeline that its own users, DaVinci Resolve users and several AI model resellers all route through.
It was already inside Premiere
A lot of the coverage framed the next step as Topaz models arriving inside Premiere Pro and After Effects. That has already happened, and Topaz did it before Adobe owned it. Topaz Labs for Premiere, a free panel that sends clips from the timeline to Topaz's cloud on paid credits, launched on Thursday 7 May, and Topaz's release notes show it being updated as recently as 18 September. Topaz Video also ships plugins for After Effects, DaVinci Resolve Studio, Final Cut Pro and Nuke. Inside Adobe's own apps, Topaz Gigapixel is a partner model in Photoshop's Generative Upscale, and Topaz Astra video upscaling has been in Firefly Boards since December 2025.
So the deal does not move Topaz into the Adobe camp, because it was already there, and it was also in the Resolve camp. What changed on 23 September is who owns it. Adobe's post says only that upscaling, restoration and "bringing AI-generated videos to professional quality through creative upscaling will soon be possible within even more existing workflows." It names no app, feature or date. What nobody has announced is the version creators are actually asking about: Topaz models running natively in Premiere without a separate Topaz account or credits.
The silence about everyone else's timeline
The more interesting gap is outside Adobe's apps. Neither company has said anything about the Resolve, Final Cut and Nuke plugins, or about the resale deals that put Topaz models inside other platforms, including 16 Topaz endpoints on fal and Topaz upscaling sold through Krea. Adobe promised that the standalone apps continue. A plugin running inside a rival's editor is a different question, and it is still unanswered.
The timing makes that question sharper. On the same Wednesday the deal closed, Runway released a plugin for DaVinci Resolve Studio 19 and later, two weeks after it put a panel inside Premiere Pro and After Effects that includes one-click upscaling. Our reading, and it is only a reading: the finishing layer used to be a neutral utility that sat under every editor, and it now has an owner with an editor of its own to sell. Whether that changes anything for Resolve users depends on decisions Adobe has not announced.
Pricing was already moving before Adobe
Some of the worry in the replies is about something Adobe did not do. Topaz ended perpetual licenses itself, when Eric Yang launched Topaz Studio on 17 September 2025 and wrote that "perpetual licenses will no longer be available for our products," while existing ones "remain yours forever." The Topaz pricing page listed Studio Personal at $69 a month on 24 September, with Pro tiers required for organizations earning more than $1 million a year. In June a Topaz community manager said there were "no changes to existing Topaz subscriptions" at this time. The live question is therefore subscription pricing and whether Topaz ends up bundled into Creative Cloud, and neither company has addressed it.
Most of the replies to Topaz's announcement are congratulations from people who already use both companies' tools every day. The skeptics are a minority but a specific one. One user wrote "Too bad for the ecosystem. Farewell," another asked ComfyUI for a local option inside the workflow and named the open-source Upscayl as a stopgap, and a Mac user just wanted Starlight Precise to run better on an M4.
What to do before anything changes
In practice, for anyone making work this week, nothing changes today. Your Topaz subscription, desktop apps and plugins keep working, and Adobe has promised the same support. That makes this the cheap moment to look at your own pipeline and see which steps depend on one vendor. If you finish in Resolve or Final Cut, or you call Topaz through fal or Krea, you are on exactly the paths neither company has talked about. Price the alternatives now while nothing is urgent: Runway's built-in upscaling in its Premiere and Resolve panels, open-source upscalers such as Upscayl, and the upscaling models that already run locally in ComfyUI. And do not cancel a Topaz plan on the hope that it arrives free inside Creative Cloud, because nobody has said that it will.
Timeline
- Date: Wed 17 Sep 2025. Event: Topaz Studio launches; perpetual licenses end for new purchases; Source: Eric Yang, Topaz community
- Date: Tue 16 Dec 2025. Event: Topaz Astra video upscaling added to Adobe Firefly Boards; Source: Adobe blog
- Date: Tue 3 Mar 2026. Event: Topaz announces Neurostream, claims up to 95% less VRAM; Source: Topaz release
- Date: Thu 7 May 2026. Event: Topaz Labs for Premiere panel launches; Source: Topaz release
- Date: Wed 24 Jun 2026. Event: Definitive agreement signed, about $340 million, mostly cash; Source: Adobe 10-Q, Note 13
- Date: Thu 25 Jun 2026. Event: Deal announced, terms not disclosed; Source: Adobe release
- Date: Tue 8 Sep 2026. Event: Runway panel for Premiere Pro and After Effects; Source: runway.com
- Date: Tue 22 Sep 2026. Event: Adobe 10-Q filed, price disclosed; Source: sec.gov
- Date: Wed 23 Sep 2026. Event: Adobe completes the acquisition; Runway plugin for DaVinci Resolve; Source: Adobe blog, Topaz on X, runway.com
What is still open
Neither company has said what happens to the Resolve, Final Cut and Nuke plugins or to the API resale through fal and Krea, and we are not predicting either way. Pricing and any Creative Cloud bundling are unannounced. Adobe says Yang joins its Digital Video and Audio team, while the June release said he would "continue to lead the Topaz Labs team", and the closing post does not repeat that line, so who runs Topaz day to day is not stated. Adobe describes Topaz as having "millions of customers" and has published no revenue figure.
Sources and reporting notes
The closing announcement was read in full on Adobe's blog, and the price comes from Note 13 of Adobe's Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 28 August, read on sec.gov. Topaz's announcement and its full reply thread (55 posts, including Topaz's own responses) were pulled through the X API on Wednesday 30 September. Plugin and panel details come from Topaz's documentation and release notes, pricing from topazlabs.com, the Emmy from the NATAS winners release, and the Runway dates from runway.com. Trade coverage of the close rewrote Adobe's post and was not treated as an independent source. We did not contact Adobe or Topaz for this draft.